Coverart for item
The Resource Where the light fell : a memoir, Philip Yancey

Where the light fell : a memoir, Philip Yancey

Label
Where the light fell : a memoir
Title
Where the light fell
Title remainder
a memoir
Statement of responsibility
Philip Yancey
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In this searing meditation on the bonds of family and the danger of extremist faith, one of today's most celebrated Christian writers recounts his unexpected journey from a strict fundamentalist upbringing to a life of compassion and grace--a revelatory memoir in the tradition of Educated and Hillbilly Elegy. Raised by an impoverished widow who earned room and board as a Bible teacher in 1950s Atlanta, Philip Yancey and his brother, Marshall, found ways to venture out beyond the confines of their eight-foot-wide trailer. But when Yancey was in college, he uncovered a shocking secret about his father's death-a secret that began to illuminate the motivations that drove his mother to extreme, often hostile religious convictions and a belief that her sons had been ordained for a divine cause. Searching for answers, Yancey dives into his family origins, taking us on an evocative journey from the backwoods of the Bible Belt to the bustling streets of Philadelphia; from trailer parks to church sanctuaries; from family oddballs to fire-and-brimstone preachers and childhood awakenings through nature, music, and literature. In time, the weight of religious and family pressure sent both sons on opposite paths--one toward healing from the impact of what he calls a "toxic faith," the other into a self-destructive spiral. Where the Light Fell is a gripping family narrative set against a turbulent time in post-World War II America, shaped by the collision of Southern fundamentalism with the mounting pressures of the civil rights movement and Sixties-era forces of social change. In piecing together his fragmented personal history and his search for redemption, Yancey gives testament to the enduring power of our hunger for truth and the possibility of faith rooted in grace instead of fear"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
LBSOR/DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Yancey, Philip
Dewey number
  • 270.092
  • B
Index
no index present
LC call number
BR1720.Y36
LC item number
A3 2021
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Yancey, Philip
  • Yancey, Philip
  • Christian biography
  • Authors, American
  • Authors, American
Target audience
adult
Label
Where the light fell : a memoir, Philip Yancey
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Part one: The family plot. The secret ; The gamble ; Demise ; The vow -- Part two: Trailer trash. Awakenings ; Hazards ; Church ; Learning ; Trailer trash -- Part three: Roots. South ; Philadelphia ; Mother ; Zeal -- Part four: Disorder. High school ; Split ; Makeover ; Crescendo ; College ; Misfits -- Part five: Graced. Tremors ; Contact ; Marshall ; The curse ; Brothers ; Aftermath
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xii, 302 pages
Isbn
9780593238509
Lccn
2021012926
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1230461566
  • 3892433
Label
Where the light fell : a memoir, Philip Yancey
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Part one: The family plot. The secret ; The gamble ; Demise ; The vow -- Part two: Trailer trash. Awakenings ; Hazards ; Church ; Learning ; Trailer trash -- Part three: Roots. South ; Philadelphia ; Mother ; Zeal -- Part four: Disorder. High school ; Split ; Makeover ; Crescendo ; College ; Misfits -- Part five: Graced. Tremors ; Contact ; Marshall ; The curse ; Brothers ; Aftermath
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xii, 302 pages
Isbn
9780593238509
Lccn
2021012926
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1230461566
  • 3892433

Library Locations

    • Evanston Public Library Chicago AveBorrow it
      900 Chicago Ave., Suite 102, Evanston, IL, 60202, US
      42.034188 -87.679606