Coverart for item
The Resource The best at it, Maulik Pancholy

The best at it, Maulik Pancholy

Label
The best at it
Title
The best at it
Statement of responsibility
Maulik Pancholy
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • Twelve-year-old Rahul Kapoor, an Indian-American boy growing up in small-town Indiana, struggles to come to terms with his identity, including that he may be gay
  • "From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. Perfect for fans of Tim Federle's Nate series. Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small town in Indiana. The start of middle school is making him feel increasingly anxious, so his favorite person in the whole world, his grandfather Bhai, gives him some well-meaning advice: Find one thing you're really good at and become the BEST at it. Those four little words sear themselves into Rahul's brain. While he's not quite sure what that special thing is, he is convinced that once he finds it, bullies like Brent Miller will stop torturing him at school. And he won't be worried about staring too long at his classmate Justin Emery. With his best friend, Chelsea, by his side, Rahul is ready to crush this challenge.... But what if he discovers he isn't the best at anything? Funny, charming, and incredibly touching, this is a story about friendship, family, and the courage it takes to live your truth."--Publisher
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Awards note
  • Rainbow Book List, 2020. https://glbtrt.ala.org/rainbowbooks/archives/1331
  • Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' Book Award, 2023.
Cataloging source
PLAYA
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1974-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Pancholy, Maulik
Dewey number
[Fic]
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PZ7.1.P35743
LC item number
Bes 2019d
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by the author
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1974-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Pancholy, Maulik
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Middle school students
  • Sexual minorities
  • East Indian Americans
  • Families
  • Families
  • Bullying
  • Anxiety
  • Identity (Philosophical concept)
  • Identity (Psychology)
  • Middle schools
  • Gay youth
  • LGBTQ+ youth
  • LGBTQ+ children
  • Indiana
Target audience
adolescent
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
The best at it, Maulik Pancholy
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • Title from container
  • "HD."
  • "Light."
  • "Harper Audio."
  • "Playaway Kids."
  • Previously released by HarperCollins Publishers, ℗2019
  • Issued on Playaway, a dedicated audio media player
  • In container (21 x 12 x 3 cm) with one AAA battery
  • One set of earphones and one AAA battery required for listening
  • Accompanying material may vary
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
  • other
  • other
Carrier category code
  • sz
  • nz
Carrier MARC source
  • rdacarrier
  • rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in.
Dimensions
other
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 audio media player (approximately 6 hr., 30 min.)
File format
one file format
Form of item
direct electronic
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781987186918
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
other
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
  • audio
  • unmediated
Media MARC source
  • rdamedia
  • rdamedia
Media type code
  • s
  • n
Other control number
9781987186918
Other physical details
digital, HD audio
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
  • 12441671
  • 12441671
Publisher number
  • 39421
  • 12441671
  • 12441671
Quality assurance targets
unknown
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
other
Speed
other
System control number
(OCoLC)1122172106
System details
Playaway Digital Audio
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
The best at it, Maulik Pancholy
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • Title from container
  • "HD."
  • "Light."
  • "Harper Audio."
  • "Playaway Kids."
  • Previously released by HarperCollins Publishers, ℗2019
  • Issued on Playaway, a dedicated audio media player
  • In container (21 x 12 x 3 cm) with one AAA battery
  • One set of earphones and one AAA battery required for listening
  • Accompanying material may vary
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
  • other
  • other
Carrier category code
  • sz
  • nz
Carrier MARC source
  • rdacarrier
  • rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in.
Dimensions
other
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 audio media player (approximately 6 hr., 30 min.)
File format
one file format
Form of item
direct electronic
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781987186918
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
other
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
  • audio
  • unmediated
Media MARC source
  • rdamedia
  • rdamedia
Media type code
  • s
  • n
Other control number
9781987186918
Other physical details
digital, HD audio
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
  • 12441671
  • 12441671
Publisher number
  • 39421
  • 12441671
  • 12441671
Quality assurance targets
unknown
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
other
Speed
other
System control number
(OCoLC)1122172106
System details
Playaway Digital Audio
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Evanston Public Library Chicago AveBorrow it
      900 Chicago Ave., Suite 102, Evanston, IL, 60202, US
      42.034188 -87.679606