Coverart for item
The Resource The Vatican princess : a novel of Lucrezia Borgia, C.W. Gortner

The Vatican princess : a novel of Lucrezia Borgia, C.W. Gortner

Label
The Vatican princess : a novel of Lucrezia Borgia
Title
The Vatican princess
Title remainder
a novel of Lucrezia Borgia
Statement of responsibility
C.W. Gortner
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world's most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance Italy, and Lucrezia Borgia, beloved daughter of the pope, was at the center of the dynasty's ambitions. Slandered as a heartless seductress who lured men to their doom, was she in fact the villainess of legend, or was she trapped in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and survival? With the ascension of the Spaniard Rodrigo Borgia as Pope Alexander VI, a new era has dawned in Rome. Benefitting from their father's elevation are the new pope's illegitimate children--his rival sons, Cesare and Juan, and beautiful young daughter Lucrezia--each of whom assumes an exalted position in the papal court. Privileged and adored, Lucrezia yearns to escape her childhood and play a part in her family's fortunes. But Rome is seductive and dangerous: Alliances shift at a moment's notice as Italy's ruling dynasties strive to keep rivals at bay. As Lucrezia's father faces challenges from all sides, the threat of a French invasion forces him to marry her off to a powerful adversary. But when she discovers the brutal truth behind her alliance, Lucrezia is plunged into a perilous gambit that will require all her wits, cunning, and guile. Escaping her marriage offers the chance of happiness with a passionate prince of Naples, yet as scandalous accusations of murder and incest build against her, menacing those she loves, Lucrezia must risk everything to overcome the lethal fate imposed upon her by her Borgia blood. Beautifully wrought, rich with fascinating historical detail, The Vatican Princess is the first novel to describe Lucrezia's coming-of-age in her own voice. What results is a dramatic, vivid tale set in an era of savagery and unparalleled splendor, where enemies and allies can be one and the same, and where loyalty to family can ultimately be a curse
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Gortner, C. W
Dewey number
813/.6
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PS3607.O78
LC item number
V38 2016ab
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Julia Whelan
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1984-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Whelan, Julia
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Borgia, Lucrezia
  • Borgia family
  • Nobility
  • Rome (Italy)
  • Italy
Target audience
adult
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
The Vatican princess : a novel of Lucrezia Borgia, C.W. Gortner
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Governing access note
May be limited to subscribing institutions
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780147526489
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
271d40bf-a45b-4420-97cf-b0ba45933159
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn938532912
  • (Sirsi) o938532912
  • (OCoLC)938532912
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
The Vatican princess : a novel of Lucrezia Borgia, C.W. Gortner
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Governing access note
May be limited to subscribing institutions
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780147526489
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
271d40bf-a45b-4420-97cf-b0ba45933159
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn938532912
  • (Sirsi) o938532912
  • (OCoLC)938532912
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Evanston Public Library Chicago AveBorrow it
      900 Chicago Ave., Suite 102, Evanston, IL, 60202, US
      42.034188 -87.679606
Processing Feedback ...